End of an Era

So it’s the last day of 2009, and the start of a new phase in my life.

The Naughties have been fantastic, by far my favourite decade! Leaving school and starting college, easily the best 2 years of my life. I made the best friends I could ever ask for and have so many great memories

I’ve travelled through Australia, Thailand and South Africa – learnt so much about myself and visited some stunning places: Top 8?

1- The Red Centre, specifically Devil’s Marbles – unbelievably beautiful. I enjoy visiting places off the beaten track, I’m an explorer by nature and like to experience new things. I particularly enjoyed learning about the aboriginal culture.

2- Sydney – This is the first and possibly the only time in my life I have visited a place and felt like I belonged there. Somehow the city just suited me and I contemplated never leaving! Hopefully the next decade will see me get a job out there…

3- Byron Bay – Such a chilled out and friendly place. Very social. Learnt some of my best drinking games in that place 🙂

Fraser Island – This place was beautiful. It was such a thrill drive along a deserted beach in a 4×4! reconvening with all the other travellers at night was great too, have some very funny memories from that trip.

5 – Ko Phi Phi – Without doubt my favourite place in Thailand. I could have happily spent a month here, but we only ended up staying two weeks. Lauren and I  spoilt ourselves with massages and spa treatments here, and the best bar of the trip was on the beach at the far side of the island, there were nightly fire shows and live music and it spilled out onto the beach. Again met some great friends on this island, and we spent a lot of time sitting singing around a guitar together 🙂

6 – Kruger Park – We actually saw the big 5! In one day!! You can’t get more lucky than that. We saw our leapord as we were pulling into the park, it was stretched out on the road, our tour leaders were shocked!

7 – Swaziland – This place was very traditional and there was so much culture to experience here. We stayed in beehive huts and took walks around the countryside, which was bursting with wildlife – deer, and warthog, and ostrich! Not your everyday walk in the park! We also had the chance to visit a swazi village and watch a swazi show, it was fab.

8 – Cape Town – I loved Cape Town, could maybe have something to do with the incredible 5* hotel we stayed in to recover from the weeks of camping and cold showers Ellie and I had to endure! The food was incredible, the beds were very much appreciated and the beach at the door was gorgeous. We were staying on Millionaires mile! We visited Table mountain and did lots of shopping, can you blame us!

I overcame my fear of falling in Cairns when I jumped out of a plane at 14,000 ft – One of the scariest but most exhilarating experiences of my life! I faced (but didn’t quite overcome!) my fear of water in Noosa when I learnt to surf, and again in Cairns when I went scuba diving. That certainly built my character and made me a stronger person. I explored caves, climbed mountains, sat underneath waterfalls – and abseiled down them! Camped under the clearest night sky I have ever seen, partied with people from all over the world… and the list goes on, wow, this reminiscence is giving me itchy feet!

Coming back down to earth, I moved out of home and started Uni. First year held it’s ups and downs, but I had a great time. I was in the musical and learnt to snowboard on the Uni Ski trip (messiest and most insanely funny holiday of my life) and met some of my best uni friends through that. I didn’t fully appreciate the lack of work I had to do and the amount of fun you have as a fresher! Second year was incredible, lived with some amazing girls and loved almost every second of it, started doing open mic nights with Samuel 🙂 and went on the ski-trip again just for shits and giggles. Did summer work placements at TBWA\London and Designate and now third year sees me swamped underneath my dissertation – I have to admit this academic year isn’t so fun!!

So now it’s coming to an end. I feel so lucky to have such a rich array of memories to take forward with me into the next years of my life, but equally excited about what the next decade will bring! I have aptly reached the end of in era, in 6 months  I graduate and I have the world at my feet!! I have no idea where life will take me, but I know I don’t want to lead a normal life. There is so much more to learn, so much to experience, so much more of the world to see, a career I want to build, people to to meet…. In a way it feels like life is just beginning because now is when I get to make those life changing decisions for me and I can escape the institutions that have kept me in one place for so long!! I am so excited!

Bring on 2010!

~ by Vicky on December 31, 2009.

5 Responses to “End of an Era”

  1. What a lovely post. The next decade has got a lot to live up to! Happy New Year

  2. Thank you Adam, Happy New Year to you too

  3. I am so proud of everything you have acheived Vicky…and I know you are going to go on and acheive all the rest of your dreams in the future. Happy 2010 !!

  4. Awww this is a lovely post! Third year is a bitch, good thing i’m here to make it so enjoyable for you! 😀 Love u Vicks!!

  5. Aww your giving me itchy feet too vicky!! There is still so much of the world I want to see and I love how some of my best travelling memories in Africa and skiing in Tignes are with you!! Can’t wait to see you when we get back even though there is so much work to do. But i definately think you will have an amazing next decade and 2010 sweetie! love u! xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

 
