The Study China Programme

I have recently been introduced to the Study China programme through the international office at my university. I went to inquire about international opportunities for once I graduate and expressed an interest in America, Amsterdam and China itself due to the nature of the advertising industry and / or market potential within these countries. I have since put together an application to take part in the scheme, which I will be sending off today!

If I were fortunate enough to gain a place on the programme, I will have the opportunity to spend 3 weeks in Shanghai!! 😀 SHANGHAI! What a great way to celebrate the end of Uni! It would allow me to learn a great deal more about the country and the internal culture and way of life, something i’m sure you’ve gathered is a great passion of mine! The programme also includes 40 hours of Mandarin lessons which I believe will be invaluable to a career in a global ad market, especially in light of China’s growing consumer power – As an example, Proctor and Gamble spent $1.3 billion advertising in China last year! I have started looking at the BBC language resource to gain a basic knowledge of Chinese, but it is… as you can imagine, unbelievably difficult to learn alone!

It would be such a fantastic opportunity to begin my professional career with an experience of this nature, however my desire to visit China has only intensified by filling out the application, so I am sure my journey will take me there at some point in my life, be it now or in the future. Obviously, I am hankering after the former!

I will post updates both on here and on Twitter to let you know how I get on, and if I get onto the scheme I will be sure to provide lots of content as to what its like over there in case anyone wants to apply next year!

Wish me luck! 🙂

~ by Vicky on March 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
